Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Know the Rules 2

Well done, you obviously know the basics but do you understand touch piece rule and the more obscure rules such as en-passant?

 

Objective: answer all 5 out of 6 questions correctly.

 

Click here for the first puzzle

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

1.
8           Consider this position and select the correct answer below.

Black has played Rd8 to a8 leaving the bishop unprotected as the knight is pinned by the White Bishop.

White realises this and planning to take the Black Bishop quickly picks it up - OOPS - then White notices Blacks attack Ra1+ and reconsiders. White replaces the Black Bishop, thinks, and plays Pawn h3 instead.

What should black do?

7        
6                
5            
4            
3                
2          
1              
  A B C D E F G H
 
Play Ra1+
Advise the player that they must replace the pawn and take the original Black Bishop.
stop the clock, call the Arbiter and complain.

Click here to continue

 

 

 


 

 

 

2.
8          

Continuing on from the situation above...

Black advises White that they have touched the Black Bishop.

What is Whites best option?

7        
6                
5            
4            
3                
2          
1              
  A B C D E F G H

 

Play Rd1 to protect the King
Play Rook d4 takes the Bishop
Play Rook h5 takes the Bishop

Click here to continue

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

3.
8          

This is the same position as above but the situation is different....

This time White reaches forward and picks up the White Rook on d4. Noticing the threat from Ra1+ white replaces the d4 Rook and reconsiders.

What should white do now?

7        
6                
5            
4            
3                
2          
1              
  A B C D E F G H
 
Play Rook h5 takes Bishop - a good move
Play Rook d4 takes Bishop
Play Rook to d1

Click here to continue

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

4.
8         Black is loosing and needs to Queen the pawn as soon as possible..

Blacks last move was e5 to f5, moving the pawn 2 squares in order to pass the white pawn on e5.

Can white take the pawn?

7                
6              
5            
4              
3                
2                
1                
  A B C D E F G H

.

No, the pawn is now beyond reach but white will still Queen first.
No, the pawn has passed white and black will Queen first.
Yes, the en-passant rule allows white to play f6 and remove the pawn on f5.

Click here to continue

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

5.
8  

Consider this position...

Black has just played pawn to f6...

 

Can white take the d5 pawn with the en-passant rule?

7      
6              
5            
4              
3                
2    
1  
  A B C D E F G H
 .
Yes, white plays d6 e.p and removes the pawn on d5.
No, en-passant is only allowed on the first move immediately after ......d7 to d5.
No, the pawn is attacked which prevents en-passant.

Click here to continue

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

6.
8  

Consider this position...

 

Black to move but they only have a short time left on the clock.

What should black do?

7              
6                
5              
4              
3                
2                
1                
A B C D E F G H
.
Play Kg7
Resign
Offer a draw

Click here to continue

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

If you achieved the objective of 5 or more then click the Advance to next level button, otherwise click try again or close.